Eastern Sprints

I’ve been in the sport of rowing for 6 years now. Somehow, despite my height, I rowed my first 3 years before turning to coxing when it became clear I wasn’t going to get any taller.

I was lucky enough to be given the opportunity to cox in college with the Northeastern Women’s Rowing team. There, I met some of the best friends and had some good races. But this past fall, I took a leap of faith to the men’s team. The switch was hard, to say the least, but so very worth it.

This weekend, my team made a strong showing at the Eastern Sprints regatta. For those unfamiliar with the event, Sprints is comprised of schools like the Ivy Leagues to those rich in rowing history.

I was very fortunate to cox a boat made up of some of the most inspiring people I’ve met. Crossing the line with them and earning a spot on the medals dock is a moment I will never forget.

Image via Igor Belakovskiy and Row2k

On the medals dock with our coach, Dan Walsh. (Image via Igor Belakovskiy and Row2k)

My boat, the third varsity 8+, brought home silver medals while our brothers in the second varsity 8+ captured the gold. All around, it was a great day, like every day, to be a Husky.

Now, onto the IRA National Championships.

Leave a Reply

